New Boy Scout Rank Requirements

Post date: Jan 06, 2016 5:11:42 PM

Effective January 1, 2016 new Boy Scout rank requirements took effect.

When do scouts start using the new requirements?

The new requirements are effective January 1, 2016. Any scout joining after this date must use the new requirements and should use the new 13th edition of the Boy Scout Handbook (available soon).

For scouts who joined BSA prior to January 1, 2016 that are:

    • Working on Tenderfoot through First Class ranks: may continue to follow old requirements but must convert to current requirements after earning First Class or January 1, 2017, whichever comes first.

    • Working on Star, Life or Eagle ranks: may continue to use the old requirements for the current rank they are working on, but must convert to new requirements after earning the current rank or January 1, 2017 whichever comes first.

On January 1, 2017 all scouts must use new requirements.

Where can I find the new requirements?

The BSA has published this PDF straight from the latest handbook and also a handbook insert, which when printed double sided can be folded up and inserted right into your existing handbook.

We have duplicated both and hosted them on our Documents / Rank Advancement pages.